California Lawmakers Approve
$15/hr. Minimum Wage
The California legislature has voted to approve the Bill, largely along partisan lines, which was passed by a vote of 48-26 in the Assembly and by a vote of 26-12 in the Senate. Governor Jerry Brown has announced that he will sign the bill into law on Monday April 4, 2016. All but two democrats voted in favor of the bill; no Republicans in either house voted in favor of the bill.
A "deal" has been reached between labor unions,
Democratic lawmakers, & Governor Jerry Brown to increase California's minimum wage to $15/hr. by 2022
New California Law Minimum Wage Increases Begin As Follows:
After 2022-23, the California minimum wage will automatically increase by up to 3.5% based on the Consumer Price Index. Also to provide for minimum wage increases, the new law phases in paid sick leave for in-home supportive care workers (originally eliminated from the statewide paid sick leave law that took effect in 2015), beginning on July 1, 2018.
- California's minimum wage (currently $10/hr.) is already the highest in the country. This new law likely will preserve that ranking into the foreseeable future.
- Many California cities have implemented local minimum wage ordinances even higher than the statewide minimum wage; the new law (unlike the laws of many other states) does not preempt local minimum wage ordinances.
- POINT: California employers must ensure compliance with both the statewide law and any local ordinances applicable to their employees.
New 2016 Laws Require Your Adherence! ...
For a personal discussion:
Call Don Dressler: 949-533-3742