Many employers mistakenly think their "old" or "current" sick pay or vacation policies are in compliance with the new law because they provide more than three days a year. However virtually all of their current policies have limitations on which employees are covered by these policies, such as "only full time employee" or "after one year of employment" etc.
But, these eligibility requirements do not comply with the requirements of the new California Paid Leave Law which requires benefits for all employees, part-time, full-time, temporary, etc.
Some employers - focusing understandably on trying to run their business - have not realized that this law applies to them and that July 1, 2015 is the effective date.
We are ONE week away from California's start of a new Paid Sick Leave Law, which applies to all employers. If you still have not written a paid sick leave policy or modified your company's previous sick leave/Paid Time Off policy - DO IT NOW!
You also need to revise the written notice you provide all new hourly employees, and we strongly suggest you use the same type notice for newly hired salaried employees. Let us know if you need help with that notice as well.
Oregon has become the fourth state, after Connecticut, California, and Massachusetts, to mandate that employers provide their employees sick leave benefits. Subject to certain exceptions, Senate Bill 454, signed by Governor Kate Brown on June 22, 2015, applies to all private-sector employers, regardless of the location of the employer's primary place of business. The law goes into effect January 1, 2016.
Under the new law, private employers throughout the state are required to implement sick time policies that meet or exceed the law's minimum benefits. Employers with operations outside of Portland and who have at least 10 employees working in the state will be required to provide employees up to 40 hours of paid sick leave per year.
Employers with Portland operations and who employ at least six employees anywhere in the state will similarly be required to provide up to 40 hours of paid sick leave benefits.
The California law, by contrast, applies to all employers, even those with only one employee, but only requires a maximum of 24 hours (3 days) of paid sick leave a year.
New 2015 Laws Require Your Adherence! ...